Sri Lanka Country Profile

Capital: Colombo

Currency: Sri Lankan Rupee (LKR)

Travel Advice: Sri Lanka Travel Advice

Visas: Sri Lanka Visa Information

Vaccinations: Sri Lanka Vaccination Information

Sri Lanka, formerly Ceylon is an island country lying in the Indian Ocean and separated from peninsular India by the Palk Strait

Proximity to the Indian subcontinent has facilitated close cultural interaction between S.Lanka and India from ancient times. At a crossroads of maritime routes traversing the Indian Ocean, it has also been exposed to cultural influences from other Asian civilisations. Ancient Greek geographers called it Taprobane. Arabs referred to it as Serendib. Later European mapmakers called it Ceylon, a name still used occasionally for trade purposes.

Town hall in Colombo.

Read More

Latest Posts