Rwanda Country Profile

Capital: Kigali

Currency: Rwandan Franc (RWF)

Travel Advice: Rwanda Travel Advice

Visas: Rwanda Visa Information

Vaccinations: Rwanda Vaccination Information

Rwanda is a landlocked country in east-central Africa south of the Equator. The capital city is Kigali in the middle of the country. Kigali Genocide Memorial in the city archives the 1994 mass mob homicides in Rwanda and the civil war.

The country gained independence from Belgium with UN intervention on 1st July 1962.

The country has five volcanoes with Kisirimbi as the highest one with 4507m above sea level. The country has attractive savannah, waving hills and landscapes with abundant wildlife that attract tourists.

Rwanda was occupied by the Twa and Hutu people between 1300s- 1916 and later Tutsi moved in too. The three tribes are from the same linguistic tribe called Bunyarwanda.

In 1959, there was a deadly genocide following the ethnic clashes between the Hutu and Tutsi. The violence forced many Tutsi to shift to Uganda. The genocide had a very great impact on the country and its memorials are kept in the Kigali Genocide Memorial in the city archives.

Paul Kagame was elected president on 24th March 2000.

As of 2019, the country had a population of 12.626 million with an area of 26,338 km2.

Currently, the country is among the fastest-growing countries in Africa following its major investments in Infrastructure and IT sectors.

The official language is Kinyarwanda.

The education system comprises of six years of primary education, three years of junior secondary school, three years of senior secondary and four years of university. The predominant religion is Christianity.

The most popular sport in the country is football.

Rwanda has a tropical highland climate with temperatures that are lower than that of typical equatorial countries. The crops planted are bananas, cassava, beans, maize, wheat and rice. The country’s national dish is Brochettes; the meat can either be beef, chicken, goat or pork served with vegetables.

Rwanda is bordered by Uganda at the north, Tanzania at the east, Burundi at the south and DRC and Lake Kivu to the west.

Latest Posts

Leave A Comment